(Sort by) on product pages for customers workaround

General ShopSite user discussion

(Sort by) on product pages for customers workaround

Postby dZi » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:13 pm

I have came up with a workaround that is fairly primitive.

I would love it if we could have the option to have dynamic product pages (I know search pages are dynamic). I still don't understand why we cannot have dynamic product pages.

My alternative is to just create a duplicate static product page for every kind of sort.

For example, earrings_by_sku_ascending.html, earrings_by_price_descending.html, etc.,

I am wondering if anyone has come up with any better alternatives or if we can have a feature that automatically creates these alternate sort static product pages every time we create a product page. If we had this feature then (as far as the customer sees), we have a sort feature that works. It may be some extra .html pages, but a few kb isn't going to max out our space.

Here is a sample code that I insert into the Product Page Template:

Code: Select all
[-- END_DEFINE LINK_TO_PAGE --]

[-- DEFINE PAGE --]
[-- HEADER --]

[-- IF PAGE.NumProducts "0" --]
[-- ELSE --]
[-- IF PAGE.DisplayGraphic "checked" --]
    <table width="768"><tr><td><img  id="pageBannerGraphic" [-- page.graphic remove_html --] alt="[-- IMAGE Page.Graphic --]"></td><td><div align="right"><img src="http://zzzzz.com/media/promo/quantity.gif"></div></td><td>&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp [b]Sort: <span style="font-weight: bold;">Price</span> <a
href="http://zzzzz.com/shop/earrings_by_sku_ascending.html">(Low to High)</a>[/b]</td></tr></table>
[-- PrevNext NoCenter --]
[-- END_IF --]

<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="768"><tr>
[-- LOOP PRODUCTS 6 --]
<td border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0" width="111">
[-- PRODUCT --]
[-- END_LOOP PRODUCTS --]</td>
</table>

[-- END_IF --]
[-- PrevNext --]

</div>
</tr>
</td>

[-- FOOTER --]
[-- END_DEFINE PAGE --]

Code: Select all
Sort: <span style="font-weight: bold;">Price</span> <a
href="http://zzzzz.com/shop/earrings_by_sku_ascending.html">(Low to High)</a>


So this mimics or "fakes" a product sort field.

Anyone have any other workarounds?
dZi
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 1:10 pm

Re: (Sort by) on product pages for customers workaround

Postby jontaco » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:29 pm

Hi,

I am wondering about the same thing. We have more than 700 products in our online shop, and I am just now organizing them all for my client.

The advanced search function http://support.lexiconn.com/news/viewtopic.php?t=338 is a good start, but I know that is not exactly what you or i are looking for.

Let me know if you find anything out about a sort function.
jontaco
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: (Sort by) on product pages for customers workaround

Postby jontaco » Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:36 pm

Well it looks like i found my answer.

Apparently the "search" pages are dynamic, meaning they are created on the fly when a customer searches, so the products can be sorted there.

However, the actual product pages are static, meaning they cannot be sorted by a customer, although you as an administrator can sort them in the back office.

And I think that a customer sort feature has been added in Shopsite Version 9 and 10.

Hope this helps.
jontaco
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: (Sort by) on product pages for customers workaround

Postby jontaco » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:55 am

Jquery Table Sort is another option. Static content can be sorted that way, but I don't think that would be a solution for products across multiple pages. 8)
jontaco
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Huntsville, AL


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests