Product Options

General ShopSite user discussion

Product Options

Postby takumaspin » Tue Dec 08, 2009 5:41 am

Hello,

I have two questions about ordering options for a product.

1. I currently have a product with a few ordering options. I also would like to add two text boxes for the customer to enter manual entries, like special instructions. How can I go about doing this? I see there is one available but I need two.

2. Also, one of my ordering options price changes depending on a combination of what the customer chooses. I need to be able to pass on to ShopSite the final price of the option.

I can only get it to work if the <option value="Peach;+1.40"> is the exact same as the option in ShopSite. The 1.40 changes depending on what option the customer chooses beforehand and I have a script that will add the correct amount into the value field.

I need to know how I can get ShopSite to accept this calculated price instead of one that is already set.

Any help and advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Kei
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby takumaspin » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:56 pm

Hello. Can anyone please help with my question? Your help is greatly appreciated!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:26 pm

As for the 2 fields, there is only one available. You could create 2 input fields in your form and give them both the same name. When the form is submitted both fields' data will be submitted and saved with the order but it will be combined into a single field. You would need to put in some special character or a way to determine the end of the first input and the start of the next.

In order to make it so shoppers can't just change prices on products the price has to be what is in the database. The only way around this is to use the special Variable Price Product option that is available in Pro level stores in versions 10 and earlier. This functionality was added to Manager level stores in ShopSite 10 sp1.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:42 pm

Hello Jim,

As always, thank you for your help.

The one available field I thought I would have to use is the Customer Text Entry Header field. Is this correct? How do I go about passing the information to the cart?

For instance, I have a t-shirt to sell and the customer enters the text that they would like on their shirt. I already have a textarea field for this product where the user manually enters the text.

Thanks!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:01 pm

Look at the section [-- PRODUCT.OptionsBox --] on this page
http://shopsite.com/help/10.1/en-US/sc/ ... oduct.html

in the section
Code: Select all
 [-- IF PRODUCT.OptionsBox --]
    <textarea name="[-- PRODUCT.Recordnumber --]:freeopt"> </textarea>
  [-- END_IF --]

duplicate the code for as many boxes as you want.
Code: Select all
 [-- IF PRODUCT.OptionsBox --]
    <textarea name="[-- PRODUCT.Recordnumber --]:freeopt"> Enter your first line of text</textarea>
    <textarea name="[-- PRODUCT.Recordnumber --]:freeopt"> Enter your second line of text </textarea>
  [-- END_IF --]

When the form is submitted to the cart the text areas will both be added to the cart with a comma between them.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Tue Dec 15, 2009 1:20 am

Thank you Jim.

Since I am using a custom page, not a template, I did the following:

<textarea name="108:freeopt"> </textarea>

and it worked fine. One additional question if I may. I have the Ordering Options can not be changed option in the settings. Unfortunately this textarea field is still editable in the cart. Is there a way I can make this display as normal text as the other options?

Thanks!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Tue Dec 15, 2009 8:21 am

Commerce Setup > Order System > Shopping Cart

Right below the " Ordering Options can not be changed " is another check box "Customer Text Entry can not be changed"
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:13 am

Thanks Jim. I had that checked already but didn't notice as the textarea shows the actual textarea as readonly and looks like you can edit it. Is there a way I can get it to show just the text like the next page in the shipping page?

Thanks
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Wed Dec 16, 2009 7:46 am

You might be able to do something with a style but I'm not sure.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests