Product Options

General ShopSite user discussion

Product Options

Postby takumaspin » Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:08 pm

I am using the demo and could not find a way to create steps in creating a final product. For instance if I were a cake shop I would like my user to first choose a size and click on the next button and than choose the sponge type, click on next, than choose filling and so on.

Is this possible with ShopSite?

Thanks!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Thu Oct 01, 2009 6:46 am

The options would all be on the same screen with no need to go to successive screens to choose different options.

On the edit product info page there is a field called "Ordering Options"
There are 2 text fields in that section. The first is a description of what you want the shopper to know about the options. The second is where you enter what options are available. For example you would put something like this

In the first box:
Make your selection for cake size, cake flavor, frosting color from the boxes below.

In the second box
cake size;n
10 inch
12 inch
14 inch

cake flavor;n
vanilla
spice
chocolate

Frosting color;n
white
chocolate
cream cheese

in the above the ;n indicates that the option is a title only and not allowed as a selection. The shopper must make a selection for the option before they checkout.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:45 pm

Thank you Jim for the reply. How would I go about adding prices to the options? Thanks again!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:35 pm

It depends on which level of ShopSite you have if you can add a price to the options. Pro and Manager allow it but Starter doesn't

Option;+5.00 would add 5 dollars (or what ever your currency is to the base price of the product.

You can find more about this in the help at
http://www.shopsite.com/help/10.0/en-US ... tions.html
for Manager level
or
http://www.shopsite.com/help/10.0/en-US ... tions.html
for Pro level.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:20 pm

Thanks again Jim. If for any reason I want to make each option appear on its own page in form of radio buttons instead of a bunch drop downs on one page, can this be done on any version of ShopSite?
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

A follow up question to the pull down menu topic

Postby ashamis » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:29 am

Thanks Jim, this is great info.

I would like to find out if this process works if I use the Order Anywhere feature. In other words, how do I make the options show up on the product page, if the product page is something I built and just added the Order Anywhere buttons?

thanks!
ashamis
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:16 am
Location: San Francisco

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:14 am

If you enable the display of ordering options for the product (Products > Select Product > Edit Product Layout > Display Ordering Options: Check here to display this product's Ordering Options menu) then when you go to Merchandising > Order anywhere and view the html the options will be included in the code.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:49 am

Hello Jim,

Thank you for the helpful information.

Is there anywhere on the ShopSite help files that tell me how and what format I should be sending ShopSite my custom fields and values? I basically want to have steps (each a separate page) and send the value each time or hold it and at the end when the user adds to cart, the options get added into one item.

Same as having all options as a drop down but different pages.

Thanks again for your help.
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:15 am

just look at the form fields that are in a ShopSite created submit for a product. That is what you need to send.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Fri Oct 09, 2009 1:44 pm

Thanks Jim, I will try it.
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby takumaspin » Mon Oct 26, 2009 5:44 pm

Hello Jim,

Can you please help me again. If I have a custom page that I created with a simple form like this:

Code: Select all
  <form name="myform" action="?.php" method="POST">
    Choose a filling: <select name="Seasons">
      <option value="Strawberry" selected="selected">Strawberry</option>
      <option value="Cherry">Cherry</option>
      <option value="Vanilla">Vanilla</option>
      <option value="Chocolate">Chocolate</option>
    </select><br /><br />
    How many layers:
      <input type="radio" name="Layer" value="1" /> One ($5.00)
      <input type="radio" name="Layer" value="2" /> Two ($10.00)
      <input type="radio" name="Layer" value="3" /> Three ($15.00)
    <br />
    Special Instructions:<br />
    <textarea name="Comments" rows="10" cols="40">Enter your comments here</textarea><br />
    <input type="submit" />
  </form>


Where do I send the values to in ShopSite? As you can see, they also need to have effect on the final price of the product. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Taku
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby Jim » Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:58 pm

It would be something like the following. I don't know for sure how to make it a radio button but you can start with what is below and modify it to include that type of submit.
Note that this is Item 0 in my store so you will need to chang the 0 to what ever product number you have any place where it has the product number specified such as
name="0:finop... (several places)
and
name="itemnum" value="0"

Code: Select all
<form action="http://mydomain.com/sc/order.cgi" method=post>
<select name="0:finopt:0" size=1>
<option value="Cherry">Cherry
<option value="Peach">Peach
<option value="Apricot">Apricot
</select>
<select name="0:finopt:1" size=1>
<option value="1 layer;+5"> One ($5.00)
<option value="2 layer;+10"> Two  ($10.00)
<option value="3 layer;+15"> Three  ($15.00)
</select>
<input type=hidden name="0:finoptnum" value=2>
<BR><input type=hidden name="storeid" value="*202d08585d037d498ef10c2c7eec93a9bcfa">
<input type=hidden name="dbname" value="products">
<input type=hidden name="function" value="add">
<input type=hidden name="itemnum" value="0">
<input type=image  src="http://mydomain.com/store/media/themesmedia/tab_burgundy_button_add.gif" alt="tab_burgundy_button_add.gif" width="83" height="22" vspace="3" hspace="3" border="0"  align="bottom"  name="Add to Cart">
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby takumaspin » Fri Oct 30, 2009 2:21 am

Thanks Jim. I will see if I can get this to work on the demo site.
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

Postby takumaspin » Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:34 am

Hi Jim,

I just wanted to say I was able to get it to work with your solution. I even got the radio buttons to work by using:

Code: Select all
<input type="radio" name="5:finopt:1" value="vanilla" />Vanilla<br />
<input type="radio" name="5:finopt:1" value="spice" />Spice<br />
<input type="radio" name="5:finopt:1" value="chocolate" />Chocolate


in the form. Again, thanks for all your help!
takumaspin
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:05 pm
Location: Bay Area

display ordering options help

Postby donaldhsdnb » Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:55 pm

Jim wrote:If you enable the display of ordering options for the product (Products > Select Product > Edit Product Layout > Display Ordering Options: Check here to display this product's Ordering Options menu) then when you go to Merchandising > Order anywhere and view the html the options will be included in the code.


For some reason my edit product layout page does not have a "display ordering options" checkbox... any ideas?[/quote]
donaldhsdnb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2010 4:44 pm
Location: Nashville

Next

Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 67 guests