Option Menus Not Showing Up

General ShopSite user discussion

Option Menus Not Showing Up

Postby bodyflight » Wed Mar 05, 2008 3:50 pm

I don't know why, but the drop down menus I try to create do not display, although the customer comments box does show up.

any idea why?
bodyflight
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: Smoky Mountains

Postby Jim » Wed Mar 05, 2008 4:03 pm

Do they show up on the shopping cart screen?

If you are using a custom template have you included the code to display them?

Have you checked the box on Products > Edit Product Layout > Display Ordering Options:
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby bodyflight » Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:07 am

thanks.i activated the box in the layout screen (why this box isn't with the information you enter for the option I have NO idea.. its on another page entirely.. go figure!) and now the options appear on the product info & more info page, and after making your selections, those options appear in list form in the shopping cart.

is that how it is SUPPOSED to work?

whats with all the discussions about being able to turn off the ability to change your choices and it showing up in the cart... etc...
bodyflight
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: Smoky Mountains

Postby Jim » Thu Mar 06, 2008 11:21 am

Yes that is how it is suppose to work. You create the options under Edit Product Info but to make them visible on the store page you enable it under Edit Product Layout. This is the case for many of the product and page options.

As for the question "whats with all the discussions about being able to turn off the ability to change your choices and it showing up in the cart... etc..."
Occasionally a merchant does not want the shopper to be able to change the options they selected on the store page after the product is added to the shopping cart. So there is an option on Commerce Setup > Order System > Shopping Cart called "Ordering Options can not be changed" which if checked will disable the ability to change the options in the cart. There is a similar option for product quantity.

There are a number of reasons why a merchant might want to do this but I think it would be a special need and not something that most merchants would want do.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby bodyflight » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:46 pm

how do I modify how the options are displayed
there are 4 pull down menus and they sit right next to eachother.
How do I get them to stack vertically?
This default display forces the customer to scroll right to see them all!!!
bodyflight
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: Smoky Mountains

Postby Jim » Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:27 pm

The product template would need to be modified to use the tag
[-- Order_Option_Menu Column --]
instead of
[-- Order_Option_Menu Line --]

or you could use
[-- Order_Option_Menu NoFormat --] to not include the table tags around the options so they would float depending on the width of the browser. You would probably need to change/add formatting if you use this option.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby bodyflight » Thu Mar 06, 2008 1:41 pm

I have never even modified the product templates yet, so this was new. I have copied it and I don't see anywhere to change the options format

Code: Select all
# Generic Product Template with No "View Cart" button

#########################
[-- DEFINE SUBPRODUCT --]
#########################
[-- IF VAR.MoreInfoTemplate --]
<div class="Subproduct">
[-- IF ANALYTICS_MULTI_DOMAIN --]
<form action="[-- SHOPPING_CART_URL BASE --]/order.cgi" method="post" onSubmit="javascript:__utmLinkPost(this)">
[-- ELSE --]
<form action="[-- SHOPPING_CART_URL BASE --]/order.cgi" method="post">
[-- END_IF --]

[-- INCLUDE Subproduct-Name PROCESS --]
[-- INCLUDE Subproduct-Price PROCESS --]
[-- INCLUDE Subproduct-AddToCartButton PROCESS --]
</div>
[-- ELSE --]
[-- INCLUDE Subproduct-Name PROCESS --]
[-- INCLUDE Product-Price PROCESS --]
[-- INCLUDE Subproduct-AddToCartButton PROCESS --]
[-- END_IF --]

#############################
[-- END_DEFINE SUBPRODUCT --]
#############################



######################
[-- DEFINE PRODUCT --]
######################
### Set a bunch of variables ###
[-- VAR.TableLayout no --]
#[-- VAR.Form no --]
[-- VAR.Options no --]
[-- VAR.Quantity no --]
[-- VAR.Graphic no --]

### Start the form for Add to Cart button ###
[-- IF PRODUCT.Subproduct --]
# do nothing
[-- ELSE --]
  [-- IF ANALYTICS_MULTI_DOMAIN --]
  <form action="[-- SHOPPING_CART_URL BASE --]/order.cgi" method="post" onSubmit="javascript:__utmLinkPost(this)">
  [-- ELSE --]
  <form action="[-- SHOPPING_CART_URL BASE --]/order.cgi" method="post">
  [-- END_IF --]
[-- END_IF --]

#####################
# GRAPHIC ALIGNMENT #
#####################
[-- INCLUDE Product-GraphicAlign PROCESS --]

####################
#  PRODUCT GRAPHIC #
####################
[-- INCLUDE Product-Graphic PROCESS --]

########################
#    PRODUCT NAME      #
########################
[-- INCLUDE Product-Name PROCESS --]

########################
#  PRODUCT SUBPRODUCTS #
########################
[-- IF PRODUCT.Subproduct --]
# Product has subproducts, so just show description for this product
# and then loop through subproducts
  [-- INCLUDE Product-Description PROCESS --]

  [-- VAR.MoreInfo no --]

  [-- LOOP SUBPRODUCTS --]
    [-- SUBPRODUCTS --]
  [-- END_LOOP SUBPRODUCTS --]

[-- ELSE --]
# Product does not have subproducts

####################
#  PRODUCT PRICE   #
####################
[-- IF PRODUCT.QuantityPricing --]
#do nothing
[-- ELSE --]
  [-- INCLUDE Product-Price PROCESS --]
[-- END_IF --]

########################
#    PRODUCT SKU       #
########################
[-- INCLUDE Product-Sku PROCESS --]

########################
#  PRODUCT DESCRIPTION #
########################
[-- INCLUDE Product-Description PROCESS --]

#######################
#  ADD TO CART BUTTON #
#######################
[-- INCLUDE Product-AddToCartButton PROCESS --]

# end the IF PRODUCT.subproducts
[-- END_IF --]

###########################
#  PRODUCT GRAPHIC        #
#  align=right, wrap=off  #
###########################
[-- INCLUDE Product-GraphicRight PROCESS --]

[-- IF PRODUCT.Subproduct --]
# do nothing
[-- ELSE --]
  </form>
[-- END_IF --]

[-- END_DEFINE PRODUCT --]



#############################
[-- DEFINE MORE_INFO_PAGE --]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
#############################
[-- VAR.MoreInfo "yes" --]

[-- IF VAR.MoreInfoTemplate --]
  [-- INCLUDE VAR.MoreInfoTemplate PROCESS --]
[-- ELSE --]
  [-- INCLUDE Classic-MoreInfoPage PROCESS --]
[-- END_IF --]


[-- VAR.MoreInfo "" --]
[-- END_DEFINE MORE_INFO_PAGE --]
bodyflight
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: Smoky Mountains

Postby Jim » Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:14 pm

I think it would be in the include file "Product-AddToCartButton" In the section
[-- IF PRODUCT.DisplayOrderingOptions --]
[-- IF PRODUCT.OptionText --]
<br>[-- PRODUCT.OptionText --]
[-- END_IF --]
[-- ORDER_OPTION_MENU LINE --]
[-- END_IF --]

So you would need to make a copy of the ShopSite include file Product-AddToCartButton. Note that you can't make a copy with the same name while you are copying the file but after it is copied you can then copy it to the same name since it will then be in your directory and not the ShopSite directory.

You will need to make the change to the line
[-- ORDER_OPTION_MENU LINE --]
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 141 guests