Set up products in a table

Questions and answers about ShopSite Custom Templates

Set up products in a table

Postby joediffdez » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:06 pm

I am new to Shopsite. I have been looking at different tutorials and forums and so much information and would like to know if it is best to set up the products in a table or through css?

I don't see anywhere how you would set up the products in a table. I'm a little lost on this concept. I don't know where to begin looking for this information as to how to go about setting up the products in a table. I would like to have 2 columns, with a product per column, and for it to create as many rows as needed. Is this possible? Can someone please point me in the right direction?
www.differentdezine.com
joediffdez
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby Jim » Fri Jul 08, 2011 6:22 am

Are you making your own template or using one of the ShopSite supplied templates?

If you are using one of the ShopSite supplied templates, go to the backoffice Pages screen, select the page you are working on, Click Edit Page Layout and in the Columns section select Two Columns. Save changes and Publish. Your products will now be in 2 columns and will extend down as many rows as necessary.

If you are making your own template then use something like this in your template

<table>
[-- loop products 2 --]
<td> [-- product --] </td>
[-- end_loop products --]
</table>
ShopSite will insert the <tr></tr> as needed each time through the loop depending on the number that is specified in the [-- Loop products X --] tag
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby joediffdez » Fri Jul 08, 2011 7:48 am

Thank you very much Jim!

So then, the following code goes where my content will be:

<table>
[-- loop products 2 --]
<td> [-- product --] </td>
[-- end_loop products --]
</table>

and the number in the loop products x specifies the columns?

I am still working on the template layout and am planning to follow the 6 step tutorial for custom templates. Hopefully when I get to this point this will all work out perfectly. Thank you!
www.differentdezine.com
joediffdez
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 23, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby ssnewbie » Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:59 pm

Hi All,
I am using the Shop Site Starter version and would like my products to be displayed in rows. I used the Circles template that SS had available but my products are displaying in one long column.

Here's the link: http://www.naturallyspeakingfoods.com/store/page2.html

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

SSNewbie
ssnewbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby Jim » Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:53 pm

Starter stores do not have the ability to have items in columns. In Pro and Manager level stores there is an option found on the Pages > Edit Page Layout screen to say how many items to put in a row. Starter stores do not have that field so you can't change from the default one product per row setting.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby ssnewbie » Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:25 am

Hi Jim,
Thanks for letting me know that. So there is no simple html coding that I could add to the page either?

Thanks,
ssnewbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:49 pm

Re: Set up products in a table

Postby Jim » Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:04 pm

I got demo store to see if the columns setting was available in Starter stores. When I went to the store page I saw that the products were indeed in 3 columns. see http://ademostore.com/ssdemos/ver110/kimsdemo12/birthday.html

I think this is related to a new feature added in ShopSite 11 which allows setting default values for Pages and Products. When you choose a theme is has default values for a number of things such as templates, colors and apparently columns.

I looked at the shopping cart of your store and see that it is a ShopSite v10 r7.4. So once your store is upgraded to version 11 you will have the default number of columns for the theme you select.

I can't get to the link http://www.naturallyspeakingfoods.com/store/page2.html any more so maybe you have uninstalled or deleted the store?
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah


Return to Custom Template Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 99 guests

cron