problem drop down menu code

General ShopSite user discussion

problem drop down menu code

Postby lord » Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:47 pm

I use this code for develop drop down menu at left bar at template. i think this code need to modify or may be this code is wrong becouse this code doesn't work. Anyone have any idea to create the drop down menu at left side bar.
i need the drop down menu display the data from the database not key in the code. there have anyway to that. Please guide me on this area

THANK YOU for your help



<script SRC="http://eval.shopsite.com/html/ssdemos/ver83/evaluate36/index.js></script>

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function MM_jumpMenu(targ,selObj,restore){ //v3.0
eval(targ+".location='"+selObj.options[selObj.selectedIndex].value+"'");
if (restore) selObj.selectedIndex=0;
}
//-->
</script>


<select name="select" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)">
[--LOOP LINKS --]
<option> [-- LINK --]</option>
[-- END_LOOP LINKS --]
</select>
lord
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:30 pm

Drop Down Menu for links

Postby ShopSite Lauren » Mon Jul 23, 2007 11:37 am

If you would like to have all of your page links in the drop down menu, and use the Loop Links feature to set that up, you would need to add the JavaScript that you have listed below, onto the page. You would also need to format the DEFINE LINK section within the page template, as well as the LOOP LINKS section. Below are the steps to set this up:



1. Add the JavaScript within the <head> in your page template.
------------------------------------------------
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
<!--
function MM_jumpMenu(targ,selObj,restore){ //v3.0
eval(targ+".location='"+selObj.options[selObj.selectedIndex].value+"'");
if (restore) selObj.selectedIndex=0;
}
//-->
</script>
------------------------------------------------



2. Many of our page templates will format the page links within a cell on a table; so the link that is generated includes the <td></td> tags. You would need to customize the Page Link so that it is in the format needed to be listed in a pull down menu. FOr example:
------------------------------------------------
[-- DEFINE LINK_TO_PAGE --]
<option value="[-- PAGE.FileName --]">[-- PAGE.Name --]</option>
[-- END_DEFINE LINK_TO_PAGE --]
------------------------------------------------



3. You would then want to set up the Loop Links section on the page. You would set it up similar to:
------------------------------------------------
<select name="select" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)">
[-- LOOP LINKS --]
[-- LINK --]
[-- END_LOOP LINKS --]
</select>
------------------------------------------------



-Lauren
ShopSite, Inc
ShopSite Lauren
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 1:35 pm
Location: Orem, UT

Thank You "ShopSite" Lauren

Postby lord » Mon Jul 23, 2007 5:39 pm

Thank You "ShopSite" Lauren. i try it first using the code
thank you again
lord
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 11:30 pm

Javascript

Postby kmujibu1 » Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:45 pm

There are too many E-Commerce service providers provide very interactive easy to use software with a very good site navigation structure. I am with shopsite for more than a year now and been looking for shopsite upgrades to see some kind of interactive navigation. The sites built on even shopsite professional are very plain and often customers gets lost navigating the site and I belive they won't come back to the site again. the only way to get a somewhat good navigation is via the designers who charge a hefty fee for 4 or 5 template modification. the monthly hosting fee for a shopsite is not cheap as other hosts, and shopsite customers still have to pay more and more for some extras.

I would suggest shopsite to throw in a template with some javascript for navigation, and leave the rest for designers.
kmujibu1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 4:33 pm


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 83 guests