Shopsite search speed

General ShopSite user discussion

Shopsite search speed

Postby gene » Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:26 pm

My site is http://www.streetbikerider.com. And if I search "Fox Racing", I the Search results page is taking too slow to load. How can I speed up the search results? Coz there must be some kind of caching that can be done.

And also, if i do a search and then copy the url bar to another browser.. I wont/cant get the same result. Is that how shopsite works? I wish it wasn't though.. that way we can use the search result itself as a category or a hard link.
gene
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:54 pm
Location: Philippines

Postby Jim » Wed Jul 15, 2009 9:23 pm

It didn't see slow to load to me. There are 137 search results and at only took maybe 5 seconds to load the first page of 40.

If you want to create canned searches you can do that by creating the same post url as is created by the form when you submit the search from a page. YOu could also create a pull down list for the shopper to select from using the same type of form only using a select statement instead of a text input field.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby gene » Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:49 pm

What do you mean about canned searches? and also when I do search, I got this from the address bar: http://www.streetbikerider.com/cgi-bin/ ... 1167462868 but when I copy and paste this to other browser, I dont get the same results.
gene
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:54 pm
Location: Philippines

Postby Jim » Thu Jul 16, 2009 8:46 am

The basic format of the search form is
Code: Select all
<form action="[-- SHOPPING_CART_URL BASE --]/productsearch.cgi?storeid=[-- STORE_ID --]" method="post">
  <input type=hidden name="storeid" value="[-- STORE_ID --]">
  [-- STORE.Search --]<br>
  <input type="text" name="search_field" class="search" size="13">
  <input type="submit" value="[-- STORE.Go --]" style="font-size: 9pt">
</form>


You could replace the line
<input type="text" name="search_field" class="search" size="13">

with a "select" statement and have your search terms listed as select options like this
Code: Select all
<select name="search_field" size="30" >
<option selected value="Gloves">Gloves</option>
<option  value="Fox Racing">Fox Racing</option>
<option  value="Street and BMX Jackets">Street and BMX Jackets</option>
<option  value="Boots">Boots</option>
</select>

You can add as many options as you need. The part in the value="..." is what will be submitted to the search and the part after the > will be what is displayed in the pulldown. They don't have to be the same text so you could use keywords for what is actually searched for and generic terms for the text the shopper will see.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby gene » Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:54 pm

We want the search result to be dynamic and updated, not static in time. And for the search, is there a way to make it faster?
gene
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 10:54 pm
Location: Philippines

Postby Jim » Tue Aug 04, 2009 7:00 pm

The search results will be dynamic. The form that I mentioned would just put frequent search terms in an easy format for shoppers to select from. You can have more than one search form on the page so you could have a canned search like I mentioned and a separate input field where the shopper can enter the terms that they want.

The speed of the search is dependent on the server that your store is hosted on. The index is generated at publish time and all that has to happen during a search is to look up the terms in the index. You can't get much faster than that. So if you are having slow searches check with your host to see how much processor time you are allotted and how many other processes might be running on the same server.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 118 guests