NEW PROBLEM for Customizing Shopsite

General ShopSite user discussion

NEW PROBLEM for Customizing Shopsite

Postby curo » Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:14 am

Hi all,

I need some help for customizing my pages.

I use shopsite and dreamweaver to edit my pages.

For example, let's consider the "PRODUCTS A" page.

I'd like to edit everything in dreamweaver (navbar, banner, buttons,etc) but just having a table on this page displaying the products generated by shopsite.

I did it by copying a generated "shopsite" table in my "dreamweaver" page but my problem is that each time I add a product, shopsite replaces my "dreamweaver page" by its own generated page and I have to copy the table again.

Is there any way to have shopsite just replacing the products table in one customized page when editing the products ?

Thanks in advance for help :wink:
Last edited by curo on Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby Jim » Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:38 pm

Yes it would be possible to do what you want but you need to understand how ShopSite creates pages.

ShopSite page generation requires the use of 2 templates, one for the page itself and one for the layout of the individual products.

You can make your dreamweaver page into a template by adding some ShopSite template tags to the html dreamweaver creates. You need to add
[-- DEFINE PAGE --] at the top of the html source (before all the html) and
[-- END_DEFINE PAGE --] after all html from the dreamweaver file. Then in the position of the dreamweaver page where you want the products to display you would add
[-- LOOP PRODUCTS --]
[-- PRODUCT --]
[-- END_LOOP PRODUCTS --]

You need to upload your file to the backoffice of your ShopSite using Merchandising > Custom Templates > Page/products > Pages.

The products will be displayed using the template assigned to them. I would try using the customdefaultproducttemplate and see if that meets your needs. If not you may need to create a custom product template to display the way you want them. Creating the template can be simple or complex depending on what you need/want to do.

Note that using custom templates eliminates lots of hand coding that you need to do in dreamweaver every time you want to change you store pages. You make the change once to your template and then ShopSite will publish all the pages using that one template. (you can have multiple page templates if you want)
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby curo » Thu Aug 23, 2007 4:57 pm

Thanks again for quality answer Jim

Everything is clear with you i think I can do that.
I didn't try already because it's very late in France, I'll try tomorrow and keep you in touch.

thanks
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby curo » Fri Aug 24, 2007 8:21 am

Hi Jim,

I did what you told me but I'm still having a problem.

I created my Custom page as you said and I've put :

[-- LOOP PRODUCTS --]
[-- PRODUCT --]
[-- END_LOOP PRODUCTS --]

in a table of my custom page where I want the products to be displayed.

My problem is that the products are displayed like in cascade.
Like this :

PRODUCT1
-----------PRODUCT2
------------------------PRODUCT3
-----------------------------------PRODUCT4

I'd like them to display one under each other, maybe I have to customize the "customdefaultproducttemplate"

Thank you in advance
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby Jim » Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:15 am

This is probably a table nesting issue. Look at the generated page and see if you can see where you need to include <tr> or <td> opening or closing tags. You might need to do something like this

<table>
[-- LOOP PRODUCTS --]
<tr><td>
[-- PRODUCT --]
</td></tr>
[-- END_LOOP PRODUCTS --]
</table>
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby curo » Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:19 am

PROBLEM SOLVED
:lol:

like this for those who have the same problem

<tr>
<td>[-- LOOP PRODUCTS --]
<tr><td>[-- PRODUCT --]</td></tr>

[-- END_LOOP PRODUCTS --] </td>
</tr>
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby curo » Fri Aug 24, 2007 9:21 am

Yes Jim, thank you very much

I'm not very comfortable with html and all that :oops:

But I'm learning a lot with this forum.

Thanks
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby curo » Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:54 am

Hi Jim

I m sorry to ask again fot help but I searched a very long time and I'm having a new problem with my custom page template. :cry:

Everything works in fireworks and Internet Explorer 7
But internet explorer 6 doesn't display the content of some cells.

Here is a link to my shopsite page generated with my custom template

http://diecastparadise.com/store/test.html

and here is a screenshot of what internet explorer 6 is displaying :

Image

The dreamweaver debugger reports me that
the tag "input" doesn't have "width" "height" and "vspace" attributes in the active versions[HTML 4.0]

Any idea ?

Thanks a lot
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby Jim » Sat Aug 25, 2007 6:55 am

I don't know what the problem is. IE 6 just can't seem to find the images for those particular locations. If you remove all products from the page and publish it again do the images show up?

The height and width and vspace of the input tag shouldn't cause a problem though as the browser will ignore them if it doesn't know what to do with them.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby curo » Sat Aug 25, 2007 10:12 am

Jim, I tried to do like you told by assigning "zero"products to the page.

The problem is still here but just one cell is missing.One strange thing is that when I hit the refresh button in IE6, the missing cell sometimes changes but it's usually one of the bottom cell.

Maybe that the shopsite custom pages has a maximum count of "cells per table".
My custom page was generated with fireworks and has a lot of cells.
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby Britain » Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:44 am

Not to highjack this thread, but is there similar code to make my dreamweaver page into a shopping cart template? In other words, I have created a shell for the entire site in dreamweaver and I have a section in the middle for the html code. I want the shopping cart to display there.

Thanks,
Britain
Britain
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2007 11:38 am

Postby Jim » Mon Aug 27, 2007 10:10 am

The shopping cart template is more complicated than a regular store page template so although the same thing can be done it would take more work.

The shopping cart template consists of 5 sections, one each for initial cart screen, billing screen, confirmation screen, thankyou screen and html email receipt. Each of those sections require specific ShopSite template tags to output the required information for the particular screen. Because there are many options that can affect the shopping cart functionaliy, such as registration, coupons, gift certificates, different payment methods, custom checkout fields billing/shipping addresses etc, the templates can be quite complex.

I would recommend that you look through the sc_default shopping cart template to see what all would be required to use your page layout with the shopping cart screens.

It is also possible to include most of your layout in the various "text at top of ..." and "text at bottom of ..." fields found under Commerce Setup > Order System > Shopping Cart/Checkout/Confirmation/Thank You screens. In this case you would break your page template into the section that does the top part of the page and the section for the bottom part of the page. In the top section end the code with something like
<table><tr><td>
and in the section at the bottom start it with </td></tr></table?
This will cause all ShopSite output to be put in a single table in the middle of your page layout.
Jim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4953
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: Utah

Postby curo » Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:13 pm

Hi,

My problem doesn't come from shopsite.

I did a test again : just cutting my page into imageready and publishing it.
I didn't generate any catalog pages inside.

I'm still having the same problem : some images are missing in ie6 as in my previous screenshot (i hate this red cross)

here is my page so far:
http://www.diecastparadise.com/store/ma ... slice.html

the code is just made of cells and images.I tried with relative to document and root image sources...no success.

please,help


:cry: :cry:
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am

Postby curo » Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:32 pm

Solved :

In fact both image ready and fireworks were generating to much cells and my code wasn't very clean :oops:
Thanks for help
curo
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:19 am


Return to User Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests